loader image

- Advertisement -

COVID-19 Active Cases
Updated on Apr 18, 2021 4:14 pm
COVID-19 Fatalities
Updated on Apr 18, 2021 4:14 pm
Sunday, April 18, 2021
67.7 F
- Advertisement -

The Edinburg Chamber honors leaders during a virtual awards ceremony

- Advertisement -
Edinburg Chamber 2020 Winners
- Advertisement -

Texas Border Business

EDINBURG, TX – The Edinburg Chamber of Commerce recognized many local well-deserving leaders, including the Man and Woman of the Year Mario Lizcano and Linda Tovar, during their virtual awards ceremony held on Tuesday, January 19, 2021, at 10 A.M.

The awards ceremony honored volunteerism in the Edinburg Community. During the chamber event, award recipients for the Man and Women of the Year, Small Business Awards, Ambassador of the Year, and Leadership Award were recognized for their ongoing activism.

This year’s awards recipients were:

Mario Lizcano, DHR Health’s Administrator of Corporate Affairs, was proudly named Man of the Year for demonstrating exemplary community service. Lizcano has gone above and beyond for his community by serving as Edinburg Census Committee Chairman, promoting efforts towards healthcare and COVID-19 awareness.

Most recently, Lizcano was named the 2020 recipient of the DHR Health Hero Award for his community involvement by Texas State Representative Terry Canales and honored by the State of Texas with the Chairman award by Texas State Senator Eddie Lucio Jr.

Linda Tovar, H-E-B Senior Manager of Public Affairs, was named Woman of the Year for her continuous drive to help the Edinburg community. Tovar is an advocate for education and health with community events including the Edinburg 10k, Edinburg Cares Drive, and the Texas Cook’Em Veteran Scholarship.

- Advertisement -

Linda has served on the Easters Seals RGV and VAMOS board. Most recently, Linda was recognized by the Rio Grande Valley Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Woman of Distinction –

Professional as well as UTPA Intercollegiate Women’s Athletic Award and one of the final UTPA Pillar of Success recipients. UTPA’s most distinguished alumni, the Pillars of Success celebrates a select group of alumni for their inspirational stories and outstanding achievements. Moises Segovia of Lifestar EMS was named the 2020 Ambassador of the Year for his commitment to serve as a connection between chamber business members and the community.

Fire Chief Shawn Snider of the Edinburg Fire Department was awarded the 2020 Leadership Award for working diligently with federal and state officials to organize one of the largest COVID-19 testing sites in the nation.

Also recognized were the following Distinguished Business of the Year Award winners in their perspective categories:

PlainsCapital Bank – Banking Industry

L&F Distributors – Wholesale Industry

Edinburg Executive Inn – Hospitality Industry

Valley Land Title Co. – Home/Mortgage Industry

McClelland Electric Co. – Professional Service Industry

El Pato Mexican Food – Restaurant Industry 

Concluding the event, the chamber recognized outgoing and incoming officers and board members who served the Edinburg Chamber organization with dedication and enthusiasm. Among them was Hiren Govind, Immediate Past President of the Board for the Edinburg Chamber of Commerce. During the ceremony, Govind was given a commemorative plaque and the coveted President’s Red Jacket for his service to the Edinburg Chamber of Commerce.

The Edinburg Chamber of Commerce would like to formally congratulate all winners and thank them for their continued commitment to serve our Edinburg community. For more information on the Edinburg Chamber of Commerce visit www.edinburg.com

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -