City of McAllen Unofficial Election Results, But Still Shows Darling Smashed Both Oponents

Mayor Jim Darling, celebrating his re-election victory. Courtesy photo

Texas Border Business

Same mayor, new commissioner and unopposed candidates declared winners

(McAllen, TX) – May 6, 2017—In the City’s most tightly contested race, incumbent Jim Darling defeated challenger Othal Brand, Jr. and J.J. Carranza, garnering 57% (4,409) of the vote, to Brand’s 40% (3,061) and Carranza’s 3% (250) to be elected to his second term as Mayor for the City of McAllen.

Mayor Jim Darling surrounded by friends and supporters. Sally Guerra, Sen. Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa and former McAllen Mayor and current City Commissioner Richard Cortez. Courtesy photo

“I am honored and humbled that the citizens of McAllen have once again, believed in me to serve as their mayor of our great city,” said reelected McAllen Mayor Jim Darling.  “Ultimately, this race was about a difference in philosophy about how best to manage, lead and grow McAllen to continue to be the leading city in the Rio Grande Valley.  Now let’s get back to work.”

The race for City Commissioner Precinct 2 was also tightly contested, with incumbent Trey Pebley receiving 35% (543) of the votes cast compared to opponent Joaquin “J.J.” Zamora, receiving 65% (982) of the votes, to become the newly elected commissioner.

In the other two City races for Commissioner, incumbent Richard Cortez faced no opponent as did newcomer Omar Quintanilla, who was running in District 3 to replace long-serving Commissioner Hilda Salinas, who chose not to seek reelection.  Both were declared winners to their respective office.

- Advertisement -Download Texas Border Business for Mobile

Also running for the City of McAllen was the McAllen Public Utility Board. Incumbents Charles Amos, Trustee, Place A and Ernie Williams, Trustee, Place D also did not face challengers and were also declared winners.

Pictured above, Mayor Jim Darling, center, flanked by Mike Carrera and Marth Hinojosa. Hinojosa and Carrera both campaign strategists for Darling’s re-election. Courtesy photo

Results are unofficial until they are canvassed on Tuesday May 16, 2017 at a Special Call City Commission Meeting at 7:30 a.m. The official Oath of Office Ceremony will take place prior to the start of the next regularly scheduled Commission Workshop on Monday, May 22, 2017.