Outstanding Community Leaders Recognized at Edinburg Chamber 87th Annual Installation Banquet

- Advertisement -

Texas Border Business

EDINBURG, TX – The Edinburg Chamber of Commerce held its  87th Annual Installation Banquet on Wednesday, October 23, 2019, at Marbels Event Center in Edinburg. The event hosted over 250 local business and community leaders and featured a social hour and fine dining. The Edinburg Chamber of Commerce recognized many local leaders including the 2019 Man and Woman of the Year, 2019 Ambassador of the Year, 2019 Leadership Award, and the 2019 Distinguished Business Awards.

The 2019 Man and Women of the Year was awarded to Carlos and Sister Guerra owners of La Muneca Cattle Company for a lifetime of community involvement, selfless dedication and compassion to their community. Carlos and Sister Guerra have been involved in the inception of the Linn San Manuel Community Improvement Corporation, which has raised funds to support Brewster School, St. Anne’s Catholic Church, the Linn San Manuel Volunteer Fire Department and the LSM Scholarship Endowment for more than 36 years. 

The Edinburg Chamber of Commerce also recognized the 2019 Leadership Award recipient Leticia Leija for her library services and leadership as it has earned ten consecutive TMLDA Achievement of Excellence in Libraries Awards, placing the library among the top 10% of all public libraries in Texas. The 2019 Ambassador of the Year Leticia Flores for her dedication and commitment in representing the Edinburg Chamber. The 2019 Distinguished Business Awards; Edwards Abstract & Title Co. – Home/Mortgage Industry, Sam Saldivar Insurance – Insurance Industry, Martin Farm & Ranch Supply, Inc. – Retail Industry, Bert Ogden Auto Group – Auto Industry, Dairy Queen of Edinburg – Restaurant Industry, Discovery School – Education Industry, Ochoa’s Pharmacy – Health Industry, Orange Grove R.V. Park – Hospitality Industry, IBC Bank – Banking Industry, South Texas Symphony Association – Nonprofit Industry, Melden and Hunt, Inc. – Professional Services Industry, and The Monitor – Media Services Industry.

The organization acknowledged outgoing and incoming officers and board members for their enthusiasm and commitment. Among them was the 2018-2019 President of the Board, Jennifer Garza of Superior Health Plan. Garza was presented a commemorative plaque and the covenant President’s Red Jacket for her service to the Edinburg Chamber of Commerce. 

Also honored that evening was incoming President of the Board, Hiren Govind of Qube Hotel Group.  Govind is currently the 2019 – 2020 President of the Board for the Edinburg Chamber of Commerce and has been a member of the board for 6 years.

For more information on upcoming Edinburg Chamber of Commerce events, please contact the Edinburg Chamber of Commerce at 956-383-4974.  

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -