UTRGV Women’s Soccer Earns Four All-WAC Honors

- Advertisement -
(L to R): Sarah Bonney, Kinga Szemik, Gina Steiner, Emily Zapata

Texas Border Business

SEATTLE, Wash. – The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley (UTRGV) Vaqueros women’s soccer team learned on Tuesday that senior forward Sarah Bonney, senior goalkeeper Kinga Szemik, junior midfielder Gina Steiner, and sophomore forward Emily Zapata have been selected to the All-Western Athletic Conference (WAC) Second Team, as voted by the head coaches.

Bonney finished the regular season tied for the team-lead in assists (2), second on the team in goals (4), points (10), shots (47), and shots on goal (14). Earlier this season, Bonney became the program leader in career goals, points, shots, and shots on goals, and ranks second in assists.   

This is Bonney’s fourth straight All-WAC Second Team honor.

Szemik gets the Second Team nod after making 65 saves on the season while posting a .739 save percentage and a 1.44 goal against average. She recorded six shutouts on the season while also earning two WAC Defensive Player of the Week honors. Her 65 saves rank sixth in the WAC and her six shutouts are the second-most in the WAC this season.

This is Szemik’s second straight All-WAC honor.

Zapata leads the team in points (16), goals (7), shots (56), shots on goal (25), and game-winning goals (4). She ranks seventh in the WAC in points, fourth in goals, fifth in shots, and second in game-winning goals.

- Advertisement -

This is Zapata’s second straight All-WAC honor.

Steiner earns her first All-WAC honor after helping anchor a UTRGV defense that posted nine shutouts this season, which is tied for the most in the WAC. This is her first All-WAC honor.

UTRGV will face fourth-seeded CSU Bakersfield in the WAC Tournament quarterfinals on Wednesday at 6 p.m. at Championship Field in Seattle, Washington.

All-WAC Selections

Offensive Player of the Year: Jessie Ray, Sr., F, Seattle U

Defensive Player of the Year: Rachel Bowler, Sr., D, Seattle U

Freshman of the Year: Lindsey Prokop, F, Kansas City

Coach of the Year: Julie Woodward, Seattle U

2018 First Team All-WAC

Rola Badawiya, Jr., F, California Baptist

Leahi Manthei, Jr., F, Seattle U

Jessie Ray, Sr., F, Seattle U

Amber Tripp, R-Jr., F, Utah Valley

Rylan Childers, So., MF Kansas City

Breanna DeWaal, Jr., MF, Utah Valley

Karley Weeks, So., MF, California Baptist

Rachel Bowler, Sr., D, Seattle U

Hannah Bruce, Sr., D, Utah Valley

Abby Small, Sr., D, Kansas City

Lauren Garthwaite, Fr., GK, Grand Canyon

2018 Second Team All-WAC

Sarah Bonney, Sr., F, UT Rio Grande Valley

Aryana Harvey, R-Sr., F, CSU Bakersfield

Emily Zapata, So., F, UT Rio Grande Valley

Kelsey Crosby, Fr., MF, Seattle U

Corey Kizer, So., MF, NM State

Holly Rothering, Sr., MF Seattle U

Gina Steiner, Jr., MF UT Rio Grande Valley

Maddi Cipolla, Jr., D Kansas City

Jenna Shepherd, R-Fr., D, Utah Valley

Kelsey Vogel, Sr., D, Seattle U

Kinga Szemik, Sr., GK, UT Rio Grande Valley

2019 All-WAC Freshman Team

Michele Adam, D, Seattle U

Dani Babb, F, Grand Canyon

Jasmine Bowman, D, CSU Bakersfield

Jocelyn Bybee, F, Utah Valley

Kelsey Crosby, MF, Seatlle U

Chelsea Duran, MF, CSU Bakersfield

Lauren Garthwaite, GK, Grand Canyon

Tiana Hill, MF, California Baptist

Lindsey Prokop, F, Kansas City

Jenna Shepherd, D, Utah Valley

Heather Stainbrook, MF, Utah Valley

- Advertisement -