PSJA Elementary Teacher honored with her second H-E-B Excellence in Education Award

- Advertisement -

Texas Border Business

PHARR – Celena Miller, Science Teacher at PSJA ISD’s Cesar Chavez Elementary was recently named a recipient of the H-E-B Excellence in Education Elementary Leadership Award at the 18th Annual H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards Ceremony held in Austin on May 5, 2019. 

Miller was one of only eight educators selected from across Texas and one of three from the Rio Grande Valley.

H-E-B launched the Excellence in Education Awards program in cooperation with the Texas Association of School Administrators in 2002 as a positive way to support public education in Texas. It has become the largest monetary program for educators in the state, spotlighting best practices and celebrating the passion and creativity of Texas educators.

During the ceremony, HEB Chairman and CEO Charles Butt handed out $430,000 in cash awards and grants and congratulated eight educators, two school districts, one early childhood agency and a public school board for being among the best in Texas. The program has given away more than $10 million in cash and grants to Texas teachers and schools since 2002.

The Leadership Award Category honors teachers with 10-20 years in the classroom. As a recipient, Miller received a $10,000 check for herself and a $10,000 grant for her school.

This is Miller’s second selection for an H-E-B award, the first time she was nominated in the Rising Star Category and won the ultimate prize back in 2014. 

- Advertisement -

In addition to the H-E-B Awards, Miller has earned prestigious recognition from the State Board of Education and praise from her peers. 

Among her many accolades include receiving the Texas Academy of Science Award and the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) by former President Barack Obama. PAEMST is the highest recognition a K-12 science or math teacher can receive in the U.S. Mrs. Miller was one of 213 mathematics and science teachers selected from across the country, and one of only two from Texas to receive the prestigious award. 

- Advertisement -