loader image

COVID-19 Fatalities
Updated on Sep 27, 2020 7:46 am
COVID-19 Fatalities
Updated on Sep 27, 2020 7:46 am
Sunday, September 27, 2020
78.9 F

Governor Abbott Presents 2019 Star Of Texas Awards

Most Read

Border Patrol Agents Seize more than $1M Worth of Drugs

On Thursday, Rio Grande Valley agents seized marijuana and methamphetamine worth more than $1M dollars.

Women of Distinction 2020

The RGV Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Women's committee proudly announces the recipients of the 2020 Women of Distinction Award.

Weslaco EDC and the City of Weslaco has developed a ROUND TWO COVID-19 Program

In response to the adverse economic impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Economic Development Corporation of Weslaco (EDC) and the City of Weslaco has developed a ROUND TWO (2) COVID-19 Weslaco Small Business Recovery Assistance Loan/Grant Program to provide assistance to Weslaco-based businesses suffering from financial impacts related to the COVID-19 (Coronavirus) pandemic.

Funding for A New Federal Court Building Now A Reality

In 1988, the McAllen office of the United States Attorney's Office in the Southern District of Texas opened by leasing an eleven-floor all-black facility located on old Business Highway 83 and Bicentennial. The building was originally the site of the Texas Commerce Bank.

Bonnie Gonzalez, a Professional That Cares

It is reassuring to know that someone and a board of directors work diligently to better the health of the Rio Grande Valley residents.
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Texas Border Business

AUSTIN – Governor Greg Abbott today presented the 2019 Star of Texas Awards to peace officers, firefighters, and first responders who demonstrated heroism and sacrifice in service to their communities and the Lone Star State. 

“The Star of Texas Awards symbolize the deep and enduring gratitude Texans have for the brave first responders who were injured or died in the line of duty,” said Governor Abbott. “Our first responders represent the very best of Texas, and we will never forget their service and sacrifice. To all the men and women who protect and serve, thank you for being the light of justice and peace in our communities. You are the shield that stands between danger and the people of Texas, and you have our deepest respect and unwavering support.” 

The Star Of Texas Awards were created in 2003 by House Bill 1937 to honor and commemorate individuals who made profound commitments while performing their duties as peace officers, firefighters and emergency medical first responders. HB 1937 also designated September 11th of every year as Texas First Responders Day. Today’s ceremony honored and recognized 50 individuals for their remarkable courage and tremendous sacrifice in the line of duty, including some who gave their lives.

The 2019 recipients of the Star of Texas Awards are:

Fire Fighters Killed in the Line of Duty

  • Daniel Edward Hampton – Burnet Fire Department
  • Larry Grant Dalton – Dallas Fire-Rescue Department 
  • Marco Antonio Davila – Dallas Fire-Rescue Department 
  • Jeffery Lee Delbert – Dallas Fire-Rescue Department 
  • Charlie Jaimes – Dallas Fire-Rescue Department 
  • Thomas M. Johnson – Dallas Fire-Rescue Department 
  • Scott Deem – San Antonio Fire Department 

Peace Officers Killed in the Line of Duty

  • Earl J. Givens, III – Dallas Police Department 
  • Garrett W. Hull – Fort Worth Police Department 
  • Albert Castaneda, Jr. – Grand Prairie Police Department
  • Nathan Hayden Heidelberg – Midland Police Department 
  • Raymond Bradley Jimmerson – Nacogdoches County Sheriff’s Office
  • Mark Allen Cox – Real County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Korby Lee Kennedy – San Angelo Police Department 
  • Moises Sanchez – Texas Department of Public Safety
  • David Jones Fitzpatrick – The Colony Police Department 
  • Timothy Gerard Olsovsky – Victoria County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Donna Doss – U.S. Customs And Border Protection, U.S. Border Patrol
  • Norman Merkel – U.S. Department Of Justice, U.S. Marshals Service
  • Loren Y. Vasquez – Waller County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Lonnie Verdell Burton – Wayland Baptist University Police Department
  • Alejandro “Alex” Martinez – Willacy County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Jason Matthew Fann – Yoakum County Sheriff’s Office 
- Advertisement -

Emergency Medical First Responders Seriously Injured in the Line of Duty

  • Steven Ray Holden – U.S. Army 

Fire Fighters Seriously Injured in the Line of Duty

  • Brad Jay Phipps – San Antonio Fire Department 

Peace Officers Seriously Injured in the Line of Duty

  • Christopher S. Fegley – Arlington Police Department
  • Alejandro “Alex” Quintanilla – Arlington Police Department 
  • Derek Baroody – Austin Police Department
  • Luis E. Farias – City of Benavides Police Department 
  • Justin Todd Ellis – Dallas Area Rapid Transit Police Department
  • Troy Lee Allison – Dallas Police Department
  • Brannon Germald Barber – Dallas Police Department 
  • Javier Leyva – Ector County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Steven John McNeill – Ector County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Joshua Devin Pool – Ector County Sheriff’s Office
  • Ricardo Rodriguez – Ector County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Cody Smith – Ector County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Calvin Gustav Lehmann – Fayette County Sheriff’s Department 
  • Christopher Gaines – Harris County Constable Precinct 4
  • John Daily – Houston Police Department
  • Luis Fuhlbrigge – Houston Police Department 
  • Nestor Garcia – Houston Police Department
  • Alonzo Reid – Houston Police Department 
  • Matthew Victor Richard – Houston Police Department
  • Elie Weston Van Horn – Port Arthur Police Department 
  • Claudia Ivette Cormier – San Marcos Police Department
  • Justin Ray Holt – Silsbee Police Department 
  • Wesley C. Hensley – Texas Attorney General’s Office 
  • Travares L. Webb – Texas Department of Public Safety 
  • Henry Jennings Gilles – Trinity County Sheriff’s Office
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Pharr and Corpus Christi Schools Receive 2020 National Blue Ribbon Honors

Yesterday, the United States Department of Education (USDE) announced that 26 Texas schools have been recognized as National Blue Ribbon schools for 2020.

U. S. Senator Urges CDC To Release Coronavirus Data

U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) today sent a second letter to Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Director Robert Redfield requestingadditional data on the coronavirus and answers to help clarify areas in which disinformation and confusion have occurred since the pandemic began.

Sister Pimentel named in Time 100 Most Influential People

UTRGV Distinguished Alumni Sister Norma Pimentel has been named to the Time 100 Most Influential People.

Count on Edinburg Census Parade

In a final effort to raise the Census response rate, the City of Edinburg will host the Count on Edinburg Census Parade Saturday, September 26, 2020.

Border Patrol Agents Seize more than $1M Worth of Drugs

On Thursday, Rio Grande Valley agents seized marijuana and methamphetamine worth more than $1M dollars.

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -