loader image
- Advertisement -

Saturday, May 18, 2024
86.9 F
McAllen
- Advertisement -

Hidalgo County Burn Ban in Effect

Translate text to Spanish or other 102 languages!

- Advertisement -
The Hidalgo County Commissioners’ Court has issued a burn ban, effective immediately for up to 90 days.  Image for illustration purpose
The Hidalgo County Commissioners’ Court has issued a burn ban, effective immediately for up to 90 days.  Image for illustration purpose

Texas Border Business

- Advertisement -

EDINBURG, Texas – The Hidalgo County Commissioners’ Court has issued a burn ban, effective immediately for up to 90 days.  

Outdoor burning is restricted in the unincorporated areas of Hidalgo County, including incorporated cities that do not have their own fire suppression resources. Household trash burning IS permitted, but ONLY with a valid burn permit issued by and at the discretion of the County Fire Marshal’s Office, located at 2814 S Business Hwy 281, Edinburg.

Burn permits can be obtained Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. and 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. Please call the Hidalgo County Fire Marshal’s Office at (956)318-2656 for additional questions.

- Advertisement -

“The burning of trash should be conducted within a recommended container with a lid and be supervised by a responsible party from ignition until extinguished,” said Hidalgo County Fire Marshal Homero Garza. “On days when a “fire watch” or “red-flag warning” weather advisory is issued by the National Weather Serviceburn permits may not be issued.”

Under a burn ban, outdoor burning is restricted in the unincorporated areas of Hidalgo County, including incorporated cities that do not have their own fire suppression resources. The outdoor burn ban, however, does not prohibit burning activities related to public health and safety that are authorized by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality for: 1) firefighter training; 2) public utility, natural gas pipeline or mining operations; 3) planting or harvesting of agricultural crops; or 4) burns that are conducted by a prescribed burn manager under Section 153.047, Natural Resources Code.  This burn ban can be revoked at any time should conditions improve. 

A violation of this order is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not to exceed $500.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -