## STARR COUNTY ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT SUMMIT: SHAPING THE FUTURE







## **AGENDA**

Day 1

Thursday, July 11, 2019

6:30pm Congressional Kickoff Reception

Capilla Del Rio Event Center

6506 US-83 Rio Grande City

Day 2

Friday, July 12, 2019

8:30am Breakfast and Onsite Registration

South Texas College - Starr County Campus Student Activities Event Center - Bldg. H

8:50am Welcome

Honorable Eloy Garza, Starr County Commissioner, Precinct 3

Honorable Joel Villarreal, Mayor City of Rio Grande City

9:00am General Session

Infrastructure and Planning-Partnering for Opportunity

Eduardo Gracia- Roma Area Engineer, TXDot (Confirmed) Robert Peche- South Texas Representative, EDA (Confirmed)

Roel Gomez – Area Director, USDA (Confirmed)

Moderator: Mr. Freddy Guerra-Assistant City Manager, City of Roma

10:00am Breakout Sessions

The Economics Of Health Care

Dr. Tony Falcon - Former Texas Family Physician of the Year (Confirmed)

Dr. Carlos Cardenas - CEO and Chairman, DHR (Confirmed)

Dr. Jose Vazques - Chairman, SCMH Board (Confirmed)

Moderator: Mrs. Dalinda Guillen, Director, RGC EDC

Capacity Building Through Workforce and Education

Julian Alvarez - Commissioner of Labor, Texas Workforce Commission (Confirmed)

Dr. Shirley Reed, President - South Texas College (Confirmed)

Veronica Gonzales, Vice-Pres for Gov and Community Relations, UTRGV (Confirmed)

Moderator: Ms. Cris Trejo - Assoc VP Community Engagement & Econ Dev, UTRGV

11:00am General Session

Economic Development and Fostering Emerging Industries

William Webber, Jr.- VP of Project Development, Caprock Renewables (Confirmed)

Rorik Peterson - Director Of Development, EDP Renewables (Confirmed)

Ramiro Rodriguez - President, ROLESA - (Confirmed)

Troy Bathman, Owner, St. Ives Realty, Inc. (Confirmed)

Jim Grissler - Partner, St. Ives Realty, Inc. (Confirmed)

Moderator: Sergio Contreras, President and CEO, RGV Partnership

12:00pm State of Texas RGV Legislative Keynote Luncheon

Honorable Judith Zaffirini - Texas State Senate District 21 (Confirmed)

Honorable Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa - Texas State Senate District 20 (Confirmed)

Honorable Eddie Lucio, Jr. - Texas State Senate District 27 (Confirmed)

Honorable Ryan Guillen - Texas State House District 31 (Confirmed)

2:00- 4:00 Work Session with Facilitator

4:00pm Wrap Up